Fangirling Chinese Novels

Come and Eat, Shan Shan (杉杉来吃) – Gu Man (Chapter 1 – Part 1 of 3)



Bu Bu Jing Xin drama makes Tong Hua a household name. Thus, her 2 other books, Ballad of the Desert & Songs in the Cloud got translated into English. Tang Qi Gong Zi is also well-loved because hamster has translated Three Lives Three Worlds, Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms and in the midst of translating The Pillow Book. Both of these authors are rather good writers so they are very popular in China as well as overseas due to the availabililty of their English translated novels online.

Another author who is very popular in China is Gu Man who only writes modern novels. Both of her books got the 1st (He Yi Sheng Xiao Mo) & 2nd (Wei Wei Yi Xiao Hen Qing Cheng) spots on an online Chinese Romance Novels poll. So, Lidge & I are planning to translate her latest novel to introduce her work to those who cannot understand Chinese. We like her books immensely and want to share our love for her books with all of you. If you want to know more about Gu Man’s other 3 books, visit the book bar. The drawings are only for chapter 1.

Chapter 1.1 (translated by lidge and edited by peanuts)

Drawings by: 雪魅天下 from Baidu

Once there was a pig captured by a wolf. The wolf tells the pig that he wants to fatten her up so he can eat her later. The little pig wants to resist and is scared, but she cannot fight against the wolf so she can only comply to be fattened up by the wolf. Time passes and the pig grows fatter and fatter, but the wolf lets her go and catches another pig to eat.  Somehow, the released pig is annoyed.  Tell me, what should the pig do?

“Umm …… Go be a free pig!”
Shan Shan’s face darkens: “You’re not getting the point of the story! Isn’t it good not to be eaten? Why does the pig not like it? ”
“Ahhh! I know! Of course the pig has fallen in love with the wolf! A love which crosses animal boundaries! How romantic~”
“…… Lu Shuang Yi! You’re a dummie!”



Our story begins when Xue Shan Shan has worked overtime for five straight days.

Employees should be off during the National Holiday, but everyone in the finance department has to work overtime to audit the books at month end.  A new employee like Xue Shan Shan has to deal with piles and piles of reports, to the point that she dizzily sees stars circling over her head.  At the end of Day 3, the manager announces the completion of the audit.


As soon as Shan Shan arrives home, she jumps into bed and immediately drifts off to a sound sleep.


While still dreaming, Shan Shan hears the phone ring.


With her eyes closed, she gropes for a long time to find it.  With her sixth sense, she presses the “on” button, groggily saying: “Hello.”


“Hello, are you Miss Xue Shan Shan?”

“Ah, Yes.”

“This is Hospital XX. Please come immediately to the maternity ward of Hospital XX.”


The person on the phone rambles on, but Shan Shan does not pay attention, humming and hawing in agreement.  Finally the person hangs up.


The world is quiet again.  Shan Shan furrows back into the blanket to continue her sleep.

A few minutes later, Shan Shan pops out of bed.

What did she just hear?  Hospital?

! ! ! ! ! !

Hopefully something has not happened to her father.


Shan Shan puts on her shoes and hurries out the door.


While urging the taxi driver to drive faster to the hospital, she suddenly reasons …… impossible, she works in S City, not back home.  How can her father be at a hospital in S City, and did she not hear the person on the phone say …… the maternity ward?

What unfolds next, for ordinary girls like Shan Shan, is unbelievable like in a romance novel.


First, she is dropped off at the hospital gate.  Shan Shan is still mourning the loss of $50 in taxi fee when she is confronted by two tall men wearing dark shades, possibly they have been waiting for her and even know what she looks like.


“Miss Xue Shan Shan, please come with us.”


Next, Shan Shan is taken to the doors of the maternity ward in a state of fear as if she is summoned to a triad gathering.  A man runs up to her with sweats dripping down his forehead, gripping her hands.

34 thoughts on “Come and Eat, Shan Shan (杉杉来吃) – Gu Man (Chapter 1 – Part 1 of 3)

  1. Pingback: 杉杉来吃 Come & Eat Shan Shan – 顾漫

  2. love to read this.^^ thank you for your seems this novel is very humourous!! very appreciate your hard work in translating..can’t read chinese nor vietnamese…i really depend on this fansubbing to read…really wich i able to read chinese

    • Thank you for the comments and support. Chapter 2 will be out tomorrow & we’ll try our best to finish translating the whole book before the end of the year, lol. This is indeed a very funny book and is ranked number 2 after Hua Xu Yin in the new online chinese romance novels poll. Lidge & I also can’t read Chinese but she can read Vietnamese so you are not alone:) Can you understand Mandarin? If yes, you can listen to the radio drama which is very good but abbreviated.

      • You and lidge cannot read mandarin? So you translated this from the vietnamese version?

        Your hard work gives me the opportunity to read this story. Thank you. keep it up.

        • No, the translation is from the Chinese version. Lidge translated from the Viet version but I edited her translation with the Chinese version to ensure accuracy.

    • Thanks for commenting. This novel holds a special place in my heart because it’s the first funny Chinese romance novel I read. Hopefully, you’ll love the story and become a Gu Man’s fan too.

  3. Thank you for translating this book. This book caught my attention after I read the rumor that Yu Zheng want to adapt this novel into a drama and the lead will be Chen Xiao. And I like Chen Xiao. I will read your translation because the audio book in vietnamese I’ve been listening to is awful.🙂

    • Welcome, welcome:) Eeeee, I hate Yu Zheng bcos of the way he is destroying Louis Cha’s novel adaptations but I guess I’ve to thank him for bringing more readers to Shan Shan:) I also like Chen Xiao & don’t mind him as Feng Teng but Yu Zheng better hand off the book. Btw, I doubt the author Gu Man will sell out to Yu Zheng.

      Heehee, I am not sure abt the quality of my translation as you can’t compare Viet with English but I assure you my blog has the most comprehensive & best pictures for Shan Shan, lol. Is there an audiobook for Viet? The Chinese audiobook is also not nice but the radio drama is very good but very slow. I’ve translated 2 parts into English.

  4. Thank you so much. I am so much appreciated your efforts in translating the
    impressive Chinese novel into English for those who cannot understand Chinese.

    Just to tell you guys that I am keeping and looking forward to read more from you.
    You make my day fulfill with happy and joy.

    • Thank you for your support. None of Gu Man’s books have been translated into Thai?

      I saw your comment in SSB. There are not many translators out there as it is time-consuming. So I doubt anyone like Zhuang Zhuang enough to translate her book into English since she is not that famous. Anyway, never say never so maybe in the future you’ll get English translation. You’ve Yong Ye in Thai right?

  5. Hi I wanted to read this novel, but I couldn’t get the full series. Can someone please let me know how I can find the complete series. Thanks.

    • What do you mean complete series? If you want to read further chapters of the translations, click on bookmarks on the top corner of this page and you will find all the links there.

  6. just wanted to ask, if you dont mind, i started to translate this one to my language. i will put link to this side in it so will you mind? thanks

  7. Pingback: Boss and Me (杉杉来了): Episode 1 – 3 Review | Fanatical

  8. Watch the drama!

  9. watched boss & me last night till ep5, while waiting for next ep download completed, im going to read this first.. now i got the feeling to read😀 hehe

  10. i’m actually re-reading this haha

  11. Hello. I’ve so enjoyed reading the first part of the first chapter. But I don’t seem able to find the rest of the translated novel. Could you please kindly give me the link? Thank you for all your hard work. 🙂

  12. I’ve just re-read this beautiful novel and wanted to say how much I enjoyed it. It’s one of those rare instances where I enjoyed both the novel and the drama equally. Actually, the drama was very popular with my entire family. My son enjoyed it, because he got to practice his Mandarin. My wife and daughter enjoyed teasing me about how good looking the men were compared to my balding self =) And I enjoyed the sweetness and joy in their relationship. Great job translating this; as always, I do so appreciate you and others providing me with the ability to enjoy Chinese novels like this in English.

    • Thank u for your support. Wow, you are the first male fan of this novel who I’ve come across lol. It is nice that you are able to enjoy this with your family. Haha, don’t feel bad as the handsome male leads in the drama will also grow old and might start balding😛 But the fictional characters in the novel will never grow old.

      • My daughter loves Asian dramas. She plays golf with me; I watch dramas with her. She’s the one who stumbled on the drama (and then novel) Shan Shan Comes to Eat and I’ve found that I really enjoy this writer (at least those novels of hers that have been translated into English). And yes, the joy of being an OTP is you never grow old in the eyes of your fans.

  13. hi, has Gu man thought of writing a sequel to Shan Shan comes to eat?

  14. I’ve been reading your Come Eat, Shan Shan translations because after finding the drama last year, I decided to wait because like Lidge, I have been at the dark side (kdramas) lol. Yes, I loves me some kdramas!

    Because there is a dry period in kdramas right now, I decided to go back to C-dramas and TW-dramas. I’m such a fanatic over Shan Shan now that because I learned “Come Eat, Shan Shan” was from a Chinese online novel, I dug and I dug the internet and found your site!!!!

    Thank you SO SO much from the bottom of my Asian dramas addicted heart! Lol

    I’m on chapter 32 now from reading endlessly at my every free moment for the past 3 days after finishing the drama. Thank you again!!!

    (I’m hoping they will make a part 2 if there’s enough material?!?!? *hands together in prayer*)


    I really liked #ZhangHansportrayalofFengTang!!!

Leave a Reply

