Fangirling Chinese Novels

Tangqi Gongzi on the Jun Fu/Ye Zhen and Mu Yen/Su Yu



So feast your eyes (if you have not been trawling the net for the latest stills like I have) of our HXY OTP: Jun Fu and Mu Yen. My general sentiment towards the costumes can only be described as “meh~”. They’re not terribly exciting and I feel like there are some really questionable choices there (blue fringes!). Some pieces look decidedly uncomfortable and don’t fall nicely (frankly, the leather assemble KC is wearing in the picture above looks clunky as if made of cardboard.

In addition to giving her thoughts on Shen An and Song Ning’s doomed romance, she also commented on our OTP. Translation and my two cents are under the cut, let me know what you think.🙂 Be careful – it’s totally spoillerrific.

Special thanks to Peanuts for compiling the weibo posts.

Regarding the Little Princess (ie Ye Zhen / Jun Fu) and Mu Yen, ten thousand people wonder why would Mu Yen fall in love with her?

Mu Yen is the kind of person that is more reserved in matters of love. Qin Ziyan approached him with an ulterior motive from the beginning; as such, he naturally used her as much as he possibly can. Whereas the Little Princess’ love for him is clean and innocent – she respects and trusts him; her love for him is the kind that characterized by a willingness to give. He knows this and understands how precious this kind of feelings are. And that is why he loves the Little Princess.

So what is this willingness to give? There is a scene I wrote where the Little Princess wanted to give Mu Yen a present. But she didn’t know what he liked. So she took out of her belongings that she had with her to let him choose, for fear that what she gives him is not the best. I feel that this kind of love is very beautiful.

If there is no Little Princess, Mu Yen is unlikely to fall in love with anyone. He knows how precious it is to be able to love someone, and that is why he said that it is good thing to have a weak point.

Because the book is written from Jun Fu’s point of view, it’s so easy to be drawn into her feelings and dilemma – she’s dead and he’s not. And I really liked how the themes explored earlier in the book are revisited in their finale, eg whether its better to have loved for a shorter period of time than expected, than never have loved at all (Thirteenth Moon) and whether it is better to forget than to remember both the love and the pain (Jiu Jiu), etc.

For quite a while after I read Tangqi’s post, I was at odds because it sounded to me that Mu Yen only loved Jun Fu because Jun Fu loved him first and best (which is actually why I put off posting this for so long). I didn’t really like that because it made me wonder if he loved her or if he loved how she made him feel. Because there’s a distinction in some cases where in the latter case, he’s more in love with his own vanity.

But then I reflected that Mu Yen actually sacrifices a lot for Jun Fu as well. In an early scene, she asked if he would marry a dead girl and he politely declined because he needs to continue his family line. But in the end, he married her anyway and did not take any secondary consorts or concubines. The epilogue actually opens with him standing at their tomb. She has already passed on for some time and have been interred. He will join her there once he passes on too. It then flashes back that the only way to extend her life was to give 15 years of his and the mystic cautioned him that he is a man with ambitious plans, so he needed to consider his decision carefully. But Mu Yen recalled the time where he found her after she was abducted, and he saw her with a dagger poised at her chest, ready to die than to be captured, he realised then that he cannot live without her.

So here you have it: Mu Yen has the ambition of his father and the romantic soul of his mother. Another doomed combination if I have ever seen one. Because I have never heard of a romantic dictator – even Napoleon gave up Josephine in the end.

Jun Fu fell in love with Mu Yen because he saved her twice at their first meeting. But I think if you ask her why she continued loving Mu Yen, it is also because he is willing to reciprocate her love with his own unconditional love. And in the face of that, does it really matter who loved who first or who loved who more?

16 thoughts on “Tangqi Gongzi on the Jun Fu/Ye Zhen and Mu Yen/Su Yu

  1. No, it doesn’t, to answer to your last question. To me, love is unconditional and usually it gives more than it receives. The ultimate power of love is, of course, to willingly give up one’s own life for the loved one. The writer really knows what she is writing about.Thanks, Mookie, for the translation and do keep it up!

  2. Okay, I DEFINITELY have NOT read this epilogue. Where is this epilogue?! No wonder the “ending” I read seemed so abrupt to me – I was clearly expecting something else. HuiEr, link me up, please!🙂

    Having not read all of HXY, I can’t really comment on A Fu and Mu Yan’s relationship, but I’ll try to anyway.😉

    Mu Yan probably needs someone to show him a pure and unconditional love first before he can begin to reciprocate back; I don’t think that for him, someone loving him first is a “petting his ego” kind of thing that then incites him to love that person back. Rather, having grown up as a scion of the royal family and in an environment where it’s “double-cross or be double-crossed”, MY would naturally be cautious and reserved by nature, so it would be highly uncharacteristic of him to make the first move, by being the first to fall in love. He must also know that loving someone can be a very scary thing, because if his loved one were to fall into the wrong hands, he would then be very vulnerable to attack by his enemies (and he’s got a lot of those!).

    On the other hand, Mu Yan is also smart enough to realize what a precious and rare thing a pure and unconditional love is, and so when he is presented with A Fu’s love, he knows to treasure it well. And from knowing to treasure A Fu’s love for him, he can then move toward loving A Fu back.

    It’s interesting to compare and contrast MY and LCY in Eastern Palace. Both are highly ambitious crown princes who treat the people around them as chess pieces to be manipulated (and discarded when no longer useful) but who are then confronted with and confounded by the pure and unconditional love of a warm and innocent princess. However, whereas I think LCY was more scared by the vulnerability he felt at falling in love, MY likely acknowledged that fear yet still chose to accept the risk that came with loving someone back because he knew how rare and precious such a love is. Perhaps it’s due to having more years and experience than LCY (I think MY is older than LCY?), or perhaps he’s simply innately more mature than LCY. Either way, he chooses to love and be loved with honor and dignity.

    • Ho! No wonder you didn’t enjoy the ending! Did you listen to the audiobook? It has been read. I don’t think there is an English translation out there. Or are you looking for the Chinese version?

      Actually… question is – when are you going to read/listen to this?! lol. I forgot to add above that Mu Yen loves Jun Fu only. Someone tries to give Jun Fu’s sister to him as a concubine (who looks a lot like Jun Fu), but he declines. I really admired him at that point because there are so many stories where they male characters take in substitutes that look like their dead wives.

      I think LCY was subject to greater political pressures and danger. MY is a few years older than LCY… but older does not equate maturity. At the end of the day, I think the main difference between MYxJF and LCYxXF is that MY and JF can move pass him destroying her country because JF knows that her father is not an able ruler and MY did not use her or her love for him to achieve that. But XF can’t forgive LCY because he made her an accessory to her maternal clan’s genocide. I really don’t think LCY loved XF any less than MY loved JF because at the end of the day, LCY jumps/attempts to jump after XF every time even if it means that he might die.

      • If you have a link to the epilogue, that would be awesome! Chinese is fine; that’s what I read (part of) HXY in anyway.😀 I originally read HXY here: . Maybe I’m blind, but I don’t see the epilogue you mentioned there.

        As for why I haven’t read or listened to (all of) HXY yet … Hehe, I’ve been busy? If the choice were between reading HXY and commenting on HuiEr’s blog, which do you think I should choose?😉 Haha. But in all seriousness, I have been swamped lately, and my interest in reading/listening to Chinese novels tends to wax and wane. I guess I’m just currently on a down cycle.

        Oh, I wasn’t saying that LCY loved XF any less than MY did JF, just that he didn’t seem as mature as MY. If JF had been more patriotic and insisted that she and MY couldn’t be together because he subjugated her country (although really, the people welcomed them right in – there was no carnage or anything), I think MY would have let her go – unwillingly so, but he would have still abided by her wishes.

    • I was just teasing you there.

      Lucky you – found the epilogue on my first try: – Peanuts has taught me well.🙂

      I think as a character, MY is written to be more mature than LCY. LCY (post amnesia without agenda towards XF) tends to still have a bit of a temper. And JF is also different from XF – JF grew up away from the royal family so she’s a lot more detached about it. She only felt that it was her duty as a royal princess to protect the dignity of the state. Whereas XF couldn’t let it go because he killed her family and she helped him.

      Situation completely different, but I would say that in general, MY and JF are a lot less emotional than LCY and XF. The latter pair tends to be very dramatic and extreme with their actions, but I still love them.

      • You rock!!!😀 Off to read … (And I just said I was in a down cycle … Ha, I apparently can’t resist spoilers even then.)

  3. My apologies, Huier, it’s you and not Mookie! But thank you for your superb work on this.

  4. Though the ending is much better with the epilogue than without it, I’m still not satisfied. I think I’m the type of “And they lived happily ever after” >___< But I do see that the ending as such is appropriate for this novel. And well, for some people it's already a happy end.

    I also like the decision Jun Fu and Mu Yen made. What they did is a lot better than Rong Yuan's way. I've always thought that Rong Yuan should have told Ying Ge the truth about his health and let her decide whether to stay together or to break up. But he wasted the last precious time he had :(((( I understand why he did so however it's not the right decision in my opinion.

    • I’ve mentioned b4 Rong Yuan’s has his own special way of loving Ying Ge and Mu Yen has his way. I think T7 purposely wrote them this way to provide a contrast that Mu Yen did not want to live in a make believe Hua Xu world and wanted to face reality with Jun Fu together for better or worse.

  5. Ah and about the reason why Mu Yen loves the little princess. I have to say: Why should he not??? If I were a man I would fall in love with the princess too!😀 I mean she is really interesting, brave, realistic but also pure. And her view of life is just amazing =))))

  6. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | Fanatical

Leave a Reply

