Fanatical

Fangirling Chinese Novels

Hua Xu Yin Original Theme Song by Tangqi Gongzi

16 Comments

[Edit 24/3/2013: summerfl7 (the poster of the Youtube video above has kindly cleaned up my draft translation below and set it as captions to the video above. So remember to turn on the captions for the English translation. It really adds to watching the video because she has painstakingly coordinated the pictures to reflect the lyrics as closely as possible. Thanks, S!

Edit 27/3/2013: summerfl7 has given me permission to adopt some of her proposed edits. Our versions are not exactly the same, but I am sure everyone would appreciate that this is really a matter of writing style and artistic preference. The important thing is that now everyone will get the gist of the poem and also a glimpse at the brilliance of Tangqi. :D]

Yes. It’s more Hua Xu Yin and Tangqi Gongzi love. I noticed the other day that the could tags on this blog is dominated by these two tags (their sizes are disproportionate to the rest really).

A couple of weeks ago, I found this piece of gem, ie the theme song Tangqi personally penned for Hua Xu Yin. It’s musically gorgeous and the lyrics themselves are meaningful and must be shared with the rest of you guys. I think the version by He Tu posted above is the original and “official” version. There are many covers floating around, and if you guys find any good ones, feel free to share in the comments section here. I think it would be a waste if this is not made the theme song for the drama. 😦

As always, translation is below the cut.

I think this is the most difficult piece of translation that I have attempted so far. I’m sure you guys would agree that translating prose is easier because we have more context to work with. But there’s so much imagery in the lyrics (more like a poem really) that so much is lost in a literal and verbatim translation. So what I have done here is that I have included the original Chinese lyrics and if anyone has any suggestion how this can be improved, let me know and I would be happy to edit and share credit. I have also included the pinyin to the lyrics in case you guys are like me and like to sing along despite our inability to read Chinese characters fluently. 😛

點一盞燈 聽一夜孤笛聲
Dian yi zhan deng ting yi ye gu di sheng
Light a lamp and listen to the the sound of the lonely flute all night

等一個人等得流年三四輪
Deng yi ge ren deng de liu nian san si lun
Waiting for someone as the years flow by

風吹過重門深庭院幽冷
Feng chui guo zhong men shen ting yuan you leng
The wind blows by the heavy door, the inner courtyard is silent and cold

一紙紅箋約下累世緣分
Yi zhi hong jian yue xia lei shi yuan fen
A fate of many lifetimes destined on red paper

史書翻過這一頁記憶封存
Shi shu fan guo zhe yi ye ji yi feng cun
Pages of the history turn but this page of memory is preserved

鴛鴦錦繪下這一段孤獨浮生
Yuan yang jin hui xia zhe yi duan gu du fu sheng
A pair of embroidered mandarin ducks drew a lonely floating life

一世長安的誓言 誰還在等
Yi shi chang an de shi yan shei hai zai deng
Who is still waiting to fulfill the pledge of a lifetime of everlasting peace?

誰太認真
Shei tai ren zhen
Who has taken it too seriously?

夢一場她城下作畫
Meng yi chang ta cheng xia zuo hua
She paints by the city wall in a dream

描一幅山水人家
miao yi fu shan shui ren jia
Painted a landscape of the village

雪紛紛下 葬了千層塔
Xue fen fen xia zang le qian ceng ta
The snow falls heavily and buries the thousand storey pagoda

生死隔斷 寂寞天涯
Sheng si ge duan ji mo tian ya
The separation of life and death, loneliness at the ends of the world

夢一場她起弦風雅
Meng yi chang ta qi xian feng ya
The sound of her zither is elegant in the dream

奏一段白頭韶華
zuo yi duan bai tou shao hua
She played a measure of glorious youth to old age

雪紛紛下 葬了千層塔
Xue fen fen xia zang le qian ceng ta
The snow falls heavily and buried the thousand storey pagoda

似鏡中月華 他不知真假
Si jing zhong yue hua ta bu zhi zhen jia
Like moonlight in the mirror, he knows not true from false

煮一壺茶 折一枝白梅花
Zhu yi hu cha zhe yi zhi bai mei hua
Brew a pot of tea and pick a sprig of white plum blossom

撐一把青傘泠泠雨落下
Cheng yi ba qing san ling ling yu luo xia
Hold up a green umbrella in the cold falling rain

香桃木開滿墳前惹風沙
Xiang tao mu kai man fen qian re feng sha
The fragrant peach tree blooms at the graveside in the wind blown sand

誰的思念在石碑上發芽
Shei de si nian zai shi bei shang fa ya
Who’s longing has sprouted on the gravestone?

夢一場她城下作畫
Meng yi chang ta cheng xia zuo hua
She paints by the city wall in a dream

描一幅山水人家
Miao yi fu shan shui ren jia
To paint a landscape of a village

雪紛紛下 葬了千層塔
Xue fen fen xia zang le qian ceng ta
The snow falls heavily and buries the thousand storey pagoda

生死隔斷 寂寞天涯
Sheng si ge duan ji mo tian ya
The separation of life and death, loneliness at the ends of the world

夢一場她起弦風雅
Meng yi chang ta qi xian feng ya
The sound of her zither is elegant in the dream

奏一段白頭韶華
zuo yi duan bai tou shao hua
She played a measure of glorious youth to old age

雪紛紛下 葬了千層塔
Xue fen fen xia zang le qian ceng ta
The snow falls heavily and buries the thousand storey pagoda

似鏡中月華 他不知真假
Si jing zhong yue hua ta bu zhi zhen jia
Like moonlight in the mirror, he knows not true from false

長安的誓言啊 史書未寫下
Chang an de shi yan a shi shu wei xie xia
The pledge of an everlasting peace was not recorded in history

16 thoughts on “Hua Xu Yin Original Theme Song by Tangqi Gongzi

  1. It sounds absolutely gorgeous~~
    Thanks for the translation, hui3r.

    • I’m glad you like it! I was absolutely hooked to it.

      The first time I listened, I found it to be a pretty song. It wasn’t until I sat down and translated it that I practically worshiped it as a piece of literature. T7 worked in so many details from the story, from referencing the titles of the sub-stories to the more memorable scenes. *squees*

  2. Spoiler alert….

    I’m reading the Chinese novel…..in part 3 when ah fu told mu yan she has no breath and can’t smell etc……did mu yan know she was a dead person?

    • Hello. This is also absolutely spoillerific so people who don’t want to know should stay away.

      My answer is…. I can’t really remember. Lol. I’m not sure where exactly you are at the novel, but somewhere in the third arc, after JF’s confrontation with the bratty princess whose sister has the hugest crush on MY, the pearl lost its power (right on schedule of 10 months after it was implanted) and JF became a lifeless corpse. So I would say that from that point, MY pretty much knew what he signed up for.

      Hope that helps.

  3. Thanks a million, hui3r, I could just spend all my time listening to the oh, so sad song beautifully sung. The pictures, too, are gorgeous. Looks like I will be enjoying watching Hua Xu Yin more than I did BBJX and I thought that was already excellent!
    Don’t know much Chinese but the translation looks terrific. Thanks again.

    • You’re welcome. I know what you mean – I practically had it on repeat for the first few days after I found it.

      I don’t know about the enjoying HXY more than BBJX. BBJX is one of TangRen’s better works, partly because it was so well put together, from the costumes, to the scripting to the casts’ amazing chemistry. BBJX is also apparently quite a faithful adaptation of the original work.

      However, rumor has it that the drama adaptation for HXY will differ quite a bit (mookie cited one fangirl who visited the set when the were shooting a scene that wasn’t in the book and in this story, Mu Yen and Shen An grew up together). This could work by adding depth to the characters or it could go so wrong by losing the original tempo and flavour of the work.

      But I know one thing for sure – come hell or high water or SARFT idiocy, we will be catching it once it comes out. 😀

  4. Thank you very much for the translation!
    I love this song, this is my favorite from He Tu. I’ve listened to it countless times and I am glad that it has such a beautiful lyrics too 🙂

  5. Pingback: youtube1111 | 華胥引 by 河圖 A Tune of Huaxu

  6. Thank you so much 🙂
    I don’t know Chinese and I have not read this novel yet. It’s very hard for me to understand everything. I listened to this song accidentally and then being attracted by either the tune or the voice. It’s funny when I don’t know what “Huaxu” is in Vietnamese and I have to find for nearly 1 hours on the internet ^^!.
    I wonder if “He Tu” that you said is the name of the singer? and who is the author of this lyric, is Tang Qi Gong Xi? Could you tell me, please?
    The lyric is great! I’m so lucky when Vietnamese and Chinese have the little same about the pronounciation. I wish you know how beautiful the Chinese is when it’s translated into Vietnamese. It seems contain 2 steps, from Chinese to “a converted language” (called Chinese- Vietnamese), and then from this converted language to Vietnamese. It’s very beautiful when you read something, even this lyric in converted language.
    Thank you so much again, and thanks to Summerfl7 too! Sorry for my English ^^

    • Hi, welcome to the blog. I think you can read the novel Hua Xu Yin in Viet and there might also be a Viet translated lyrics for the song. If you can’t find them, come back & I’ll ask my friend who knows Viet for the website for you.

      Yes, the lyrics for this song as well as The Pillow Book are both written by Tang Qi Gong Xi, the author for the novels. Your English is fine, so don’t worry I can understand:)

      • thanks so much 🙂 I found them already, the Viet translated lyrics and the novel. the lyrics is great in “converted language” which I said before. 🙂
        Could you tell me the latin name of the singer, please? his voice made me impressed ^^ Thank you.
        It’s beginning a new day in Vietnam now.

  7. Thanks for help so much 🙂

  8. Thanks very much for posting this! Beautiful song, awesome art, and lovely lyrics! 😀

  9. amazing. thanks for translations. I will look forward for more..

Leave a Reply

