Fanatical

Fangirling Chinese Novels

Hua Xu Yin Summary Part 2 – Ying Ge’s Story (华胥引- 十三月)

30 Comments

63d9f2d3572c11df4e70cac8622762d0f603c2bc

This is my favourite sub-story. This is also the story with the most fan-made MVs so they confirmed my good taste, lol. What can I say except fate can work for you but it can also work against you. This story is really sad yet I can see silver lining because they met each other and got to spend the best parts of their short but sweet life together. It somehow reflects the fate of the main protagonists of the novel but with a difference.

I am not sure I agree with Rong Yuan’s unilateral decision to die alone and not spend the rest of his remaining life with his loved one. He may perceive what he has done are all for her own good but what did she think? This story is so much more touching because their ending is inevitable but it is by no means due to their character flaws like the other three sub-stories. Rong Yuan is also a favourite male lead with many readers as he is protective and devoted. On the other hand, his nephew Rong Xun is the most hated character in the novel, even worse than Shen An. Thus, I don’t want to read an epilogue from his point of view.

Summary

Jun Fu and Mu Yan went to the country Zheng to look for Rong Yuan’s wife Shi San Yue (who is actually called Ying Ge). Instead Jun Fu found her sister Jin Que. She asked for the Hua Xu dream, where she killed her husband Rong Xun because she felt they were the one who contributed to the death of her sister Ying Ge. She was very remorseful so she killed him then commited sucide and died in the dream. Later, Jun Fu met Ying Ge and noticed that she looked exactly like Jin Que. She was curious so she went into Ying Ge’s dream with Mu Yan.

When Ying Ge was young, her family was very poor so she was adopted by Rong Xun to be trained as an assassin to work for him. Ying Ge loved Rong Xun but he just treated her as a tool to accomplish his mission. After Ying Ge’s grandma passed away, he fetched Ying Ge’s little sister Jin Que to live with them. He felt she was the epitome of a true lady so he treated her very well and loved her. During Rong Xun’s birthday, Ying Ge rushed back to give him a present. However, she found out Rong Xun liked her sister so she was very heart-broken. When Ying Ge and her little sister were both injured, he only cared about her sister.

Later, Rong Xun’s uncle Rong Yuan who was the duke/king was interested in Jin Que. Rong Yuan made Ying Ge went through a painful skin surgery to get rid of her injury scars and entered the palace as Jin Que. Thus, Ying Ge completely gave up on Rong Xun since “he doesn’t like me, I also don’t like him.” After living in the palace, she tried to find opportunity to escape to live her own carefree life. However, Rong Yuan treated her very well so she fell in love with him. Once, Rong Yuan tried to test her by creating a chance for her to escape but she did not take it.

Thus, they felt deeply in love and had a happy and blissful life for three years. Later Rong Yuan was injured by a giant snow leopard while protecting Ying Ge. As a result, Rong Yuan was poisoned and will die as he could not be healed. When he found out that Ying Ge was not Jin Que, he imprisoned her up in the mountain for lying to him.  At the same time, he declared to the world that Ying Ge has passed away due to illness. Later, Rong Yuan deliberately got Rong Xun to seize the throne. Hence, Rong Xun became the new king, Rong Yuan abdicated and passed away half a year later. After 3 years of imprisonment, Ying Ge did not believe Rong Yuan has died so she came down from the mountain to look everywhere for him.

Through the Hua Xu dream, Ying Ge learns about the extent of Rong Yuan’s love for her. He felt that she was a strong and good woman who was worthy of his love. She also finds out that he knew all along she was not Jin Que as Rong Xun has switched the twin identities. That means Rong Yuan’s supposed anger over the deception was play-acting. When he found out he would be dying, he could not bear to part with Ying Ge. However, he knew after he died, she will commit suicide to be with him. Thus, he pretended to be angry with the deception and sent her away into imprisonment for 10 years. He hoped after 10 years she would have her freedom and would already forgotten about him by then.

Ying Ge find outs her sister Jin Que and Rong Xun were unhappy after Jin Que found out about Ying Ge’s past love for Rong Xun and she was the interloper. After marrying off Ying Ge to Rong Yuan, Rong Xun realised he actually loved Ying Ge. Knowing that Rong Yuan has died, Ying Ge does not want to life anymore. She tells Jun Fu her biggest wish is to be with her husband forever in death. Thus, she offers up her body as a replacement for Jin Que who has died earlier in the Hua Xu dream. Rong Xun also wants to save Jin Que but when he learns that her resurrection will be at the cost of Ying Ge’s life, in the end he choses to stop the procedure. Because of his intervention, Ying Ge temporarily loses her memories and thinks Rong Xun is Rong Yuan.

Rong Xun can live with that and is going to marry her. However a few days later, Jun Fu hears the bride has disappeared on the wedding day. She knows Ying Ge must have regained her memories and there is no way she will marry Rong Xun. She must have gone to die beside Rong Yuan. Indeed Ying Ge, sneaks into his royal tomb and kills herself lying beside him in the tomb. There is no way for Rong Xun to find her despite being the king now as the former king’s tomb is inviolate so Ying Ge chooses the only place in the world Rong Xun can never find her, where she can be with Rong Yuan forever. Jun Fu thinks she is happy and is happy for her end.

Pictorials

ge Ying

Ying Ge who Rong Xun changed the name to Shi San Yue after she became an assassin.

13 Yue13 Yue1

After Ying Ge married Rong Yuan, he bestowed the title Lady Purple Moon to her.

YuanRong

Rong Yuan is the ruler of the country Zheng and is also known as Jing Hou. He is a handsome man. He met Ying Ge when he was 25 years old.

XunRong1

Rong Xun is the nephew of Rong Yuan and became the ruler after he siezed power. He and Rong Yuan are actually quite close in age.

QueeJing

Jin Que is the little twin sister of Ying Ge and married Rong Xun.

Ying & Jing

The contrast between the twin sisters, a cold assasin and a demure lady?

Rong bros

The faceless showdown between Shi San Yue and Rong Xun in the Hua Xu dream?

RY&YG

The sad and touching love story between Ying Ge and Rong Yuan.

Fan-made MV Translation

All the fan-made MVs below has Hu Ge as Rong Yuan, Yuan Hong as Rong Xun and Liu Shi Shi as Ying Ge as well as Jin Que. A big thank you to cloudandsea who has worked hard to translate this MV.

0.33: When Ying Ge was young, she was rescued by Rong Xun.

0.36: Ying Ge, your name is too alluring. From now on, you shall be called Shi San Yue.

0.40: I have killed him…

You have done well.

I am very scared. I am scared of being an assassin. I am scared of killing people.

Yue Niang, please become the most outstanding assassin for the Rong Family.

0.50: I will become the best assassin… for you.

0.54: When Ying Ge was 19, her ailing grandma passed away. She was unable to rush back to see her grandma for one last time as she was executing a mission. Rong Xun allowed her to fetch her only younger sister back.

0.58: Grandma said she wanted to see you before she died.

1.02: I always thought her name is Yan Wu (note: there is a chinese phrase called Ying Ge Yan Wu). Didn’t expect her to be called Jin Que.

1.10: The 7th year of Jing Hou. Spring. Flowers blooming.

1.12: The 20 years old Ying Ge has become the best assassin.

A girl spent her youth and the best time of her life drenched in blood.

Every move, every action with the sword gives off an eerie chill.

1.22: Compared to Jin Que who is adored by everyone, there is an obvious disparity.

Like a sunflower blooming under the sunlight. Pretty and clean.

1.28: Rong Xun’s 24th birthday is on 17th April. Ying Ge wanted to return to Country Zheng to give him a pottery that she has made as his birthday gift.

1.37: 16th April. After days of travelling without sleep, Ying Ge finally reached her destination.

1.41: She just stepped into the Rong mansion, but she already couldn’t wait to run to Rong Xun’s room to show him his gift. But all she saw was Rong Xun and Jin Que.

He abandoned her just like that, without even bothering to tell her.

Ever since he saved her in that cold winter night, she has given herself to him.

He only treated her as another person he is in controlled of, someone belonging to him. But he didn’t know about Ying Ge’s love for him. One and only.

2.04: In September, the royal family went hunting. Jin Que lost her way and saved Duke Rong Yuan’s snow cub. The next day, the snow cub, wrapped in bandages, was carried by the court servant back to the palace. Jin Que caught Duke Rong Yuan’s attention and he hinted Rong Xun to send her to the palace.

2.13: That night, Ying Ge received a mission letter written by Rong Xun, for the first time.

“Substitute Jin Que to enter the palace.”

2.22: My lord, if you can attack faster than me, not only will I follow the troublesome marriage customs, I will also not mind sharing a bed. I will listen to everything you say.

2.29: I have won the bet.

2.38: I have never expected that this day will come, that you will hold your sword against my neck.

Rong Xun, I cannot kill you. You have saved me and my family. Your kindness to us, I will never dare to forget. But you have asked me to do such a thing… to replace Jin Que to enter the palace and marry your uncle. Just because you cannot bear Jin Que to leave you.

3.01: Tonight, you shall attend to me to change my attire.

Scared? If you are scared, then go and sleep la.

Since we are going to do this one day, then let that day come faster. My lord, don’t you agree with me?

3.27: Month of winter. Ying Ge accompanied Yi He and her mother to pay respects to their ancestors. On the way there, a group of people attacked them. Ying Ge carried Yi He to the cliff and jumped down from the cliff. It was not steep and Ying Ge used a strap to hold the tree twigs when falling to reduce the impact. And so when she fell, she only broke her right leg.

3.32: How did you get injured? Is it painful? If you are in pain then just scream it out.

Who taught you to be like this? Your leg is broken and you do not make any noise. You are in pain and yet you are enduring it all by yourself.

Jin Que, just cry it out.

It’s okay. I’m here.

3.58: You have stayed in the palace for 3 months. Are you bored? I will bring you out for a walk tomorrow.

4.07: Where do you want to go?

Since my lord has asked me to make a choice… then let’s go to Bi Fu Lou.

4.15: If you still want to use your wife as a bet, then so be it.

I won’t let you make a loss. This round, I will add 300,000 gold.

Pass this sword to the boss, and he will exchange it for 300,000 gold.

4.28: He could have exchanged the sword for money by himself. Why did he insist on her going to change it? Maybe Rong Yuan wanted to give an opportunity for Ying Ge to escape.

4.50: He gave her an opportunity to escape, but at the same time, he hoped that she wouldn’t. Only he will know how painful it was when she left. It is like a hopeless bet.

5.10: There were too many people so I stayed upstairs to watch you.

5.15: I really like you. No matter what you do, I will still like you. Even if you decide to leave me.

5.37: End of the year. Rong Xun marries Jin Que. Of course, the Jin Que now is not Jin Que, but Ying Ge, Shi San Yue.

5.51: Why have you invited me to meet you here?

I have disappointed you.

Yes, you have. You and Jin Que, have let me down.

It is good that you hate me, since I am the one who have done you wrong.

6.04: To kill an assassin is easy, but to move her is difficult. They lived precariously, like one who is walking on a tightrope on top of a cliff. All they have are a strong sense of danger with no security.

I know how to touch an assassin’s soul – hand your life over to her.

6.09: I don’t know if Rong Yuan knew that. On New Year’s eve, when the giant snow leopard attempted to pounce on Ying Ge, Rong Yuan’s first reaction was to pull Ying Ge behind him to protect her. The sharp claws of the leopard scratched his left arm.

The leopard’s claw is poisonous.

At this kind of moment, just stand behind me.

If you die, I will come and accompany you.

What did you say the previous time?

Eat your medicine first, it’s not hot anymore.

I will wait for you to recover, so get well quickly.

6.44: The 10th year of Jing Hou. Ying Ge was exposed for impersonating Jin Que. Rong Yuan was extremely angry and banished Ying Ge to repent over her mistakes at Ting Hua Mountain for 10 years, and not allowed to leave. For the first two months she was there, she thought of many ways and means to break the formation and leave the mountain. She was covered all over with cuts and bruises when she finally managed to leave the forest. Without taking any rest, she rushed back to the palace, only to receive news of her death.

6.51: You told me that you were different from them. Have you forgotten? Actually you knew that I wasn’t Jin Que all along, right? You found such a way to imprison me by keeping me in captivity just because you are sick of me, right? Why did I even believe you? How can I just believe you just like that?

Those who didn’t manage to send the Lady back to the mountain shall be executed.

That was the last time they met.

7.26: For three years, Ying Ge never attempted to escape anymore. And for three years, there was no news of the world outside.

7.32: My Lady, you have contain all your hatred towards my Lord for all these years… But he has already passed away two years ago. Towards the dead, let go of all the hatred. His only wish was for you to continue living happily.

What did you say just now…? Rong Yuan, what happened to him?

7.50: I heard that you can use your magic powers to let the mortals see what they cannot see. Can you help me?

What do you want to know?

I want to know why my husband left me, and where is he now?

8.01: We have always seen one side of a story, but not the other side. And finally, we can see it clearly now. Rong Yuan’s story started the moment he saw Ying Ge. Under the warm candle lights, Ying Ge’s cold eyes send chills to one’s spine.

So Jin Que is not Jin Que, but Ying Ge, the assassin.

Today, pretend that I have never heard of this. You mentioned that Rong Xun removed the scars on her body. How did he do that?

Change skin.

He thought, she must have been in extreme pain at that time.

He didn’t fall in love with her at first sight. From pity to love, it took three days for him to fall in love. For those who are destined to be in love, one day of separation feels so long, not to mention three days.

She should be living happily without worries. A girl who is ignorant about the world’s dark side. A girl who he can dote on, preciously.

9.01: Rong Yuan was born prematurely and was diagnosed with all types of illnesses since young. He recovered when he was treated by a renowned physician, Bai Li Yue.

After many years, they met again. Immediately, the first thing Bai Li Yue asked was, “Your Lord, have you suffered from any poison this year?”

How much longer can I still live?

In three more months, My Lord, you will start to vomit blood. In a year time… you will die of over-bleeding.

9.25: He thought, when he died, there was only two route for her – to bury herself with him or to die of loneliness in the palace. If she got to choose, based on her character, she will definitely slit her wrist and die with him.

If she saw his indecisiveness that night, would she be a bit happier and better?

9.43: 10 days later, on the basis of deceiving the emperor, he banished Ying Ge to Ting Hua Mountain to reflect. The next day, he announced to the world that she has died of illness.

For ten years, she will lose contact with the world.

Ten years later, she will forget him.

Even though her youth would be gone by then, but she will be free to live the kind of life she wanted.

10.07: Soon, Rong Xun broke his way into the palace. This incident happened fast and quiet because Rong Yuan never intended to resist.

I gave her to you in full, but why did you break her into pieces?

Even if she is broken, she is broken under my embrace.

10.27: Later, Rong Yuan stepped down and Rong Xun ascended to the throne. Rong Yuan hid himself in Shan Xing Palace to meditate.

A year later, that day came. Bai Li Yue’s words came true.

10.45: No! I don’t want you to die!

10.50: This is the whole story. Ying Ge has already guess it somehow, but she refused to believe it.

Looking back at those days, it felt as if it happened very long ago, and untouchable.

Rong Yuan’s life has been too short, but he insisted in using his way to protect her.

In the world of troubled times, to be able to see such true love from the dark palace shows me that even though life has reached the bottom pit, you can still resist against it and grow your own roots.

This year, I am 26 years old. But I feel that my life have been really good, and really long. That’s nothing for me to look back anymore.

For my last wish, I would like to request you to bury me together with my husband.

Since this is my favourite sub-story, how can I not translate a fan-made MV? But I’ve made use of a lot of cloudandsea’s translation since they are rather similar. Below is one of my favourite MV with dubbing since I cannot read:(

0.04: Ying Ge is your real name?

0.34: Ying Ge, your name is too alluring. From now on, you shall be called Shi San Yue.

What is the difference between real name and nick name since from the age of eleven, nobody calls me by this name anymore?

Yue Niang, please become the most outstanding assassin of the Rong Family for me.

0.47: The 10th year of Jing Hou, the 20 years old Ying Ge has become the best assassin of the family.

A girl spent her youth and the best time of her life drenched in blood.

Every move, every action with the sword gives off an eerie chill.

1.01: When Ying Ge was 19 years old, her ailing grandma passed away. She was unable to rush back to see her grandma for the last time as she was executing a mission. When she returned from her mission, Rong Xun already fetched her only younger sister back to live with them.

Rong Xun’s 24th birthday is on 17th April. Ying Ge  After 7 days of travelling without sleep, Ying Ge rushed back to give him his birthday gift. When she stepped into the Rong mansion, she already couldn’t wait to run to Rong Xun’s room to show him his gift. But all she saw was her little sister Jin Que going into Rong Xun’s study room.

1.36: There is something, that the more effort you use, the more difficult to retain it. Just like Ying Ge’s romance.

He abandoned her just like that, without even bothering to inform her.

2.01: That night, Ying Ge received a mission letter exclusively used by Rong Xun.

“Substitute Jin Que to enter the palace.”

2.19: I have never expected that this day will come, that you will hold your sword against my neck.

Rong Xun, I cannot kill you. You have saved me and my family. Your kindness to us, I will never dare to forget. But you have asked me to replace Jin Que to enter the palace and marry your uncle. Kill me so I can be free.

I don’t want your life. Just substitute Jin Que and enter the palace will be the last mission you need to do for me. Then you are free.

Rong Xun, do you think that an assassin doesn’t have a heart? You protect Jin Que but sacrifice me just because I am an assassin.

3.08: Scared? If you are scared, then go and sleep la.

If you let me do it myself, then I won’t be scared.

Since we are going to do this one day, then let that day come faster.

3.35: Month of winter. Ying Ge accompanied Yi He to pay respects to their ancestors. On the way there, a group of people attacked them. Ying Ge and Yi He fell down the cliff.

3.58: Is it painful?

Not really…….

Who taught you to be like this? Your leg is broken and you do not make any noise. You are in pain and yet you are enduring it all by yourself.
Jin Que, just cry it out.
It’s okay. I’m here.

4.24: You have stayed in the palace for 3 months. Are you bored? I will bring you out for a walk tomorrow. Where do you want to go?

Since my lord has asked me to make a choice… then let’s go to Bi Fu Lou.

Bi Fu Lou is a famous gambling place in the city.

Pass this sword to the boss, and he will exchange it for 300,000 gold.

Maybe Rong Yuan wanted to give an opportunity for Ying Ge to escape. He could have exchanged the sword for money by himself. Why did he insist on her going to change it?

Only he will know how painful it will be to part with her. It is just like a hopeless bet. It is just like Rong Yuan’s current mood.

5.03: Where did you go?

There were too many people so I stayed upstairs to watch you.

I don’t know if Ying Ge has fallen in love with Rong Yuan. All I know is that she has personally given up this opportunity to escape.

5.15: End of the year. Rong Xun got married. Of course, with the real Jin Que.

Why have you asked me to meet you here?

Ying Ge……..

My lord…..you got the wrong person. I am not Ying Ge. The person you married today is the one called Ying Ge.

Do you hate me? I have let you down.

Yes, you have let me down. You and Jin Que, have let me down.

Since I have let you down, hating me is also good.

6.02: To kill an assassin is easy, but to move her is difficult. In order to touch an assassin’s soul, all you need to do is hand your life over to her. I don’t know if Rong Yuan knew that. On New Year’s eve, when the giant snow leopard attempted to pounce on Ying Ge, Rong Yuan’s first reaction was to pull Ying Ge behind him to protect her.

During this kind of moment, all you need to do is just stand behind me.

If you die, I will come and accompany you.

Ying Ge and Rong Yuan live happily together for three years. In the second year, she was bestowed the title ‘Lady ???

6.43: The 10th year of Jing Hou. Ying Ge was exposed for impersonating Jin Que. Rong Yuan was extremely angry and banished Ying Ge to repent over her mistakes at Ting Hua Mountain for 10 years, and not allowed to leave. With injuries, she walked step by step to confront him.

You told me that you were different from them. Have you forgotten? Actually you knew that I wasn’t Jin Que all along, right? You found such a way to imprison me by keeping me in captivity just because you are sick of me, right? Why did I even believe you? How can I just believe you just like that?

Send the lady back. Those who didn’t manage to send her back shall be executed.

That was the last time they met.

7.24: For three years, Ying Ge never attempted to escape anymore. And for three years, there was no news of the world outside.

7.32: Two years ago, my lord has passed away. Towards the dead, let go of all the hatred la.

7.50: Ying Ge……….

I want to use your magic powers to see what the mortals cannot see.

What do you want to know?

I want to know why my husband left me, and where is he now?

We have always seen one side of a story, but not the other side. And finally, we can see it clearly now. Rong Yuan’s story started the moment he saw Ying Ge.

8.29: Jin Que is not Jin Que, but Ying Ge, the assassin Shi San Yue.

Today, pretend that I have never heard of this. You mentioned that Rong Xun removed the scars on her body. How did he do that?

Change skin.

He thought, she must have been in extreme pain at that time.

He thought, those who gave her up are so stupid. But he gave her up which has benefited himself.

He didn’t fall in love with her at first sight. From pity to love, it took three days for him to fall in love. For those who are destined to be in love, one day of separation feels so long.

9.07: When he has everything settled but he has forgotten about fate.

How much longer can I still live?

In three more months, My Lord, you will start to vomit blood. In a year time… you will die of over-bleeding.

9.23: 10 days later, on the basis of deceiving the emperor, he banished Ying Ge to Ting Hua Mountain to reflect.

Not long after, Rong Xun broke his way into the palace. This incident happened very fast and very quiet.

I gave her to you in full, but why did you break her into pieces?

Even if she is broken, she is broken under my embrace.

9.50: A year later, cherry trees blossom throughout the mountain. Rong Yuan really passed away.

This is the whole story. Ying Ge has already guess it somehow, but she refused to believe it.

Looking back at those days, it felt as if it happened very long ago, and untouchable.

Rong Yuan’s life has been too short, but he insisted in using his way to protect her, his own special kind of love.

10.23: In the vast land, there are so many palaces and in those palaces buried so many women’s youth and sadness.

Until I get to witness this love story.

After my death, I would like to bury together with my husband.

I remember this is her last wish.

The following fan-made MVs also have that trio as leads:  

http://www.tudou.com/programs/view/PhA-mY_1AKc/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s47VhUNkHts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LzJfQQeVQ4

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=opj6Wd4cOtc

If you can understand Mandarin, you can listen to the radio drama.

30 thoughts on “Hua Xu Yin Summary Part 2 – Ying Ge’s Story (华胥引- 十三月)

  1. Pingback: 华胥引 Hua Xu Yin – 唐七公子

  2. Yeah I like this one, too. I like the scene when Ying Ge and Rong Yuan have their “date” the most. Ying Ge was so sweet there.

    I don’t like Ying Ge’s sister. She clearly knows that Ying Ge is in love with Rong Xun but still she stays with him, despite the fact that he treats her sister very cruelly. Without Ying Ge’s sacrifices the little sister could never have lived such a comfortable life as she did. I think Jin Que is an egoistic girl and doesn’t deserve Ying Ge’s love. And she is also pitiful because at the end the one Rong Yuan loves is still Ying Ge.

    Well maybe I dislike Jin Que so much since I can’t stand wimpy (not physically) girls in general.

    • I don’t think the sister knew Ying Ge liked Rong Xun. Later when she found out, she killed Rong Xun and committed suicide in the hua xu dream due to guilt. She is okay, not as hateful as that mute girl in Song Ning’s story. You can’t really blame her as she is passive, it is more of Rong Xun’s fault.

      Ya, Ying Ge & Rong Yuan are so sweet. I wish there are more scenes on them. Btw, I don’t like the drama casting:(

      • Of course she knew Ying Ge liked Rong Xun. Remember the conversation between the twin sisters before the assassination on Rong Xun. Jin Que asked Ying Ge, whether Ying Ge didn’t want to leave because she loved Rong Xun. Then Jin Que said that she would show her sister that Rong Xun didn’t love Ying Ge.

        Women are sensitive creatures when it comes to love. And the two are twin sisters so I’m sure Jin Que did know about Ying Ge’s feelings. For this reason it’s even more cruel that she let Rong Xun treating her sister like that, forcing Ying Ge to marry Rong Yuan instead of herself.

        I don’t like the cast either, particularly the 2 main characters. What the heck is that blue hair of Mu Yen????? O__o
        But then, the whole storyline is changed. So if I ever watch the drama I will consider it as another film that has nothing to do with my favourite novel. Otherwise I wouldn’t be able to bear this crime :(((((

        • Oh sorry, I dun remember bcos I listened to the radio drama & didn’t read the book, lol. Maybe, that part was edited or maybe I didn’t pay attention bcos I hate Rong Xun:P I only pay attention to Rong Yuan, haha…..

          I am sorry to say Rong Yuan & Rong Xun are not handsome in the drama:( Why their clothes are so colourful like some Disney characters lol? Look at the drawings in the pictorials I posted, which are how I imagine them to be. The woman who acted as Ying Ge also is not what I picture her to be like.

          I don’t understand why they wanna change the story and Tang 7 allowed that. I did this post bcos I wanna tell those who can’t read Chinese or Viet but love to watch Cdrama the real story so they won’t be misled by the drama later.

    • You are doing an amazing job 🙂 Really admirable.

      You’re right. The clothes are kind of… weird *sigh* I think making a film adaption based on a novel (especially a popular novel) is a real challenge. It’s very difficult to live up to the expectations of the fans. In addition, everyone has their own perception of the characters. Do you know the new Xiao Long Nu played by Michelle Chen? Well she is a good example of the contrast between fans’ fantasy and that of a director :/

      • I personally think this drama stuff up big time. Yes, you can’t please everyone but this one really annoyed everyone. Bu Bu Jing Xin, Da Mo Yau & Yun Zhong Ge adaptations were not bashed or complained as much as Hua Xu Yin. HXY fails in every sense, be it casting, costume, storyline etc.

        To be fair, we need to compare apple with apple so we’ll leave anything related to Yu Zheng out of it as he is abnormal:P

        I feel the problems with adaptations are that they either follow the book closely or change the book substantially bcos they want to bring a fresh feeling to readers of the novels which is not wanted. Also, some of the script writers probably are of poor quality or they hate either the writers or the books so they just butcher them without regards to their feelings. As for the directors, they only have money signs in front of them so they’ll pick the cast according to budget & popularity, but not suitability. After paying for Kevin, Yuan Hong etc no more budget so cast unknown as Ah Fu, Rong Yuan etc.

        • I would have understood why they had to change the whole storyline if there were many other adaptions of the novel. But it isn’t the case so I can’t really get why they didn’t just leave the poor Hua Xu Yin in peace?!

          And I don’t appreciate the famous Kevin Cheng anyway. I can’t judge his acting skills since I’ve never watched any of his films but I think he is way too old for the role. I mean everytime I see him portraying Mu Yen I’m like “It’s the old uncle” =)))))

        • I told you already, if they leave the drama similar to the novel, the scriptwriters will be jobless:P Also, no suspense for us who’ve read the book as we’ll know what’ll come next. With the book being butchered now, there’ll be more buzz when we vomit blood on each other, haha…..

          Hey, KC is my idol, lol just kidding:P Anyway I do think he is a handsome man and looks good for his age. Unfortunately he is NOT Mu Yan of the novel. Since the drama has been changed so it should be okay but I am not okay with his styling (the blue streak of hair) & the costume!!!! Sore eyes ah!!!! You didn’t watch Bu Bu Jing Xin????

        • I started watching the first episodes of Bu Bu Jing Xin but then dropped it since there are more than one (true) love interests for the main girl 😛 I don’t like love triangles at all.

          And I also don’t like the “time travel” genre. The girl is always portraited as clever and skilful. She can do so many things she shouldn’t be able to do T__T In some of the “time travel” novels I read the main girl can play acient instruments easily and even knows Kungfu O__o (what the heck???)

          Maybe Bu Bu Jing Xin is a good book and doesn’t have the flaws I’m talking about. But I still don’t like the complicated love relationships 😛

        • Wah, like that you narrow down a lot of drama. So, you are not going to support Hu Ge in DMY? Hey, you are watching drama for entertainment so you need to suspend your belief. I also don’t really like ‘time travel’ but if it is good, I can accept it. BBJX drama followed the novel closely & I believe is better than the novel bcos we get to see the guys as well as the actions. Forget the relationships but watch the costume & cinematography:)

  3. Oh gosh, this is so sad. 😦

    So…the real Rong Xun is still alive, but the dreamland one was killed by Jin Que? Why didn’t Ying Ge ask Jun Fu to create a dream in which Rong Yuan was still alive? Then she could enter the dream state to be with Rong Yuan forever and never exit the dream?

    • Yup, Rong Xun only died in the dream but is alive in reality. Jin Qu is dead in the dream as well as real life bcos she chose to stay in the dream so she have to die in real life. Since she committed suicide in the dream so she is dead. Jun Fu cannot resurrect the dead so even if Jun Fu creates a dream, Rong Yuan will still be dead in the dream. He died of illness so it can’t be changed.

  4. Wow this story is so beautiful. This may be one instance where I agree that it’s fated to be sad and for it to end happily would take away its truth and beauty. Peanuts, your summary is so good, I think I want to read Hua Xu Yin! Are you going to do more summaries? I think I may read it after your summaries, so I can speak those sub stories I don’t want to read (like the Shen An one – ugh, hate it too much).

    • I encourage you to read it since you are Tang 7’s ardent fan:P Although the novel is sad yet is it also funny. I feel it is better than 3L3W bcos the story is rather refreshing and not draggy. You can recover easily by reading a few funny boss & staff stories, lol. Btw, did you read T7’s modern book?

      Hey, did you read my intro or not:P? I’ve written I gonna do 5 parts, 4 sub-stories & 1 main story but you’ve to wait bcos it is getting harder to summarise as my memory is getting worse. I don’t really fancy the last 2 sub-stories. The main story is difficult to summarise bcos I like every bits of them, lol. You can skip the Shen An’s story by watching the drama later bcos this is the only sub-story that is watchable.

      • Oops! Haha I read your intro! But, it was a while ago, so I forgot that you said you will be summarising the 4 sub stories. Haha. Pardon me. My brain is made of cheese. Yay! Excited. I can’t wait to read the rest. I watched the Shen An previews because I like Yuan Hong, but even then, I still want to kick him. I don’t really like that kind of angst, haha so I doubt I will enjoy it. And eww blue hair on Kevin!

        Nope! I have not read any of her modern books. Are they happy endings? I recall faintly reading somewhere that her modern ones aren’t happy. I think I might pick up Chong Zi soon.

        • Ya, Shen An is annoying & stubborn but Song Ning is also at fault too so I don’t dislike him as much as you:P Rong Xun is my most hated male in the novel. Somemore he gets to live to be king, so unfair !!!! If you cannot stand angst then you better don’t read the sub-stories bcos the 3rd story may make you hit the roof, lol. Just skip all the sub-stories and read Mu Yan & Ah Fu’s parts. I doubt the drama will do them justice.

          T7 only wrote one modern novel and it is happy ending. But the storyline is like a modern version of Ten Miles of Peach Blossom. I don’t really like it bcos there is something wrong with the structure of the story as well as characterisations. Even T7 admitted it & wanna rewrite. She said she is most satisfied with HXY and so am I. To refresh your cheesy mind:p, T7 rewrote 10MPB. Anyway, you should read it since you are a fan, lol.

        • Oh, no! The 3rd sub story is even sadder than the Ying Ge one????

        • Huh, I don’t know how to measure the level of sadness since they are all very sad:( Stay tune to find out but be patient bcos it is getting harder to translate.

  5. Teehee! Ok, I shall go read it! HYX sounds like such a fantastic classic. Shall read it after all your summaries ❤

  6. oh oh oh oh oh!! <3<3<3 This is my absolute favorite substory from Hua Xu Yin. I absolutely love Rong Yuan and Ying Ge/Shi San Yue. I have listened to the radio drama and watched fanmade MVs of this pair numerous times in the past and doing so again because of this post.

    Thank you for translating this as I wish more future fans can tune in their poignantly tragic story and love them as much as we do.

    Sometimes even I forget that this book was from the same author as the 3L3W novels…

    • Yah, this story is so touching & sweet but also the saddest bcos both of them can’t really be blame for their fate compared with the other stories. Did you watch all the fan-made MVs, so many of them?

      I think Tang 7 likes to torture her readers with angst stories but at least at the end of the day, she’ll give them happy endings, not like Tong Hua. I like HXY more than 3L3W.

      • I did! I think there was one with Yuan Hong, Liu Shi Shi, Hu Ge which should have been my favorite because of the cast, but wasn’t.

        Also, another really well made one with Liu Yi Fei as Ying Ge, Ady An as Jun Fu, Hu Ge as Rong Xun, and Wallace Huo as Rong Yuan that included more of the radiodrama than most MVs. Love that one because there were MANY scenes of Wallace Huo from Qing Shi Huang Fei and CP3 where he looked the best in compared to his other dramas.

        • ahahahaha, I just rewatched it and realized I forgot to mention Huang Xiao Ming as Mu Yan appears at the end. Great cast, but I wished that they had use Liu Shi Shi instead of Crystal Liu…but very well made regardless. 🙂

  7. This was a really touching story, I loved how sacrificing Ying Ge was. Although a killer, she had this softness at heart. There wasn’t really anyone that I hated in this side story, maybe except for Jin Que… she lived so comfortably due to her sister’s sacrifices but was yet so clueless about it. Rong Xun did love Ying Ge, but not enough, then he did regret it afterwards after he invaded Rong Yuan for the throne. So he ended up living his life in regret, which was his payment for giving up the woman he loved. How Rong Yuan fell for Ying Ge felt more realistic for me, which was super sweet despite knowing her past. If only fate didn’t take him away so early, I feel like there wouldn’t be as much regret for Ying Ge if she could stay by his side until the end, but the hurt will always be there. But wasn’t Rong Yuan’s reason for banishing her was for her to ease her pain when he died and also because he wanted to protect her from Rong Xun? I loved this story sooo much! – Thanks Peanut for recommending this book! I was expecting a bit more happiness from Tang7 after reading 10PB! You say she rewrote it? Where can I get my hands on that ebook?

    • Wow, you dislike Jin Que more than Rong Xun. I dislike Rong Xun the most in HXY. He made use of Ying Ge and hurt her so much yet wanted her back after she found her happiness. I like Rong Yuan but I still don’t agree with what he had done seemingly for Ying Ge’s benefit. He should let her stay with him till he died. I guess partly for Ying Ge’s benefit bcos he knew she’ll commit suicide if he died but also partly bcos he did not want Rong Yun to get her. I remembered he said something along the line since he can’t have her neither can Rong Yun.

      T7 didn’t rewrite HXY bcos she feels it is one of her best work & need not be rewritten but she did add an epilogue in the lastest publication which you can find in SSB. I think she did revise 10MPB slighty and you can find the revision here http://tieba.baidu.com/p/2049723941?pn=1

  8. Pingback: Hua Xu Yin (华胥引) – Chapter 6.1 | Fanatical

Leave a Reply

