Fanatical

Fangirling Chinese Novels

The Sunshine Award

12 Comments

image

When people mention sunshine, I think of warm rays filtering through fluffy clouds to anoint the land below in brilliant glow. And just as anyone can bask in sunshine, The Sunshine Award is a bestowal that doesn’t discriminate between popularity or content. True to its namesake, the rays which have been making their rounds in the blogosphere have finally shone on us here in our quiet corners of hui3r and shushengbar (SSB). For that, we cannot be thankful enough towards Melanie and Moonblossom (MB) for the nominations.

Every translator works hard for their translations. Although they are not the original authors, it doesn’t mean they love the books any less or have an easier task. They also need to spend a lot of time and effort to ensure as little will be lost in translation as possible. Hence, I feel all of them deserve an award for spreading their love for Chinese novels. I am not going to name each and everyone of them since there are too many of them and  there will be more to come. You can go to SSB to check them out and support them. (does this sound cheesy 😛 ?)

Peanuts

A special thanks to MB for remembering me & SSB and also Mel, my competitor for WC’s affection 😀 Sorry for being so late. It is not that I am ungrateful but you should know I am slow and slack like my favourite author Gu Man lol. I don’t mean to be a wet blanket but I consider myself more of a translator than a blogger 😛 Anyhow, I am thankful for all the support, contributions and comments from everyone.

Q1: In the pugilist world, there is this saying that if you have reached a high enough level of cultivation, then you become your weapon, and your weapon becomes you. So…if you were a weapon, what would it be and why?

I want to be a gun so I can shoot all the baddies and not get injured. Also, I’ll be invincible lol. Ok, I like to take short cuts but may the best woman win 😛

Q2: Which novel or drama character would you like to marry and why? You cannot take the best parts of several characters and combine them into an ideal spouse! You have to pick one character and accept his bad traits along with the good ones.

I want to marry the male lead of the novel that I am reading or the drama I am watching at any point in time because I always imagine myself as the female lead haha…..In the surreal world, we are allowed to indulge in our fantasy so why choose? Take them all 😛

Q3: What is your dream profession and why? (And if you don’t mind my nosiness, what is your real profession? You don’t have to answer this if you don’t wish to.)

My dream profession is to do nothing but I am sure lidge will steal that from me, hahaha… If I really have to pick one then I want to be a super rich Big Boss. Then I can buy out Feng Teng and bully Shan Shan at work 😀 I can also afford to buy the copyrights of books I like to prevent people like Yumama from destroying them. By the same token, hoju and I will set up a production company to film them to ensure top quality and faithful adaptations with English subtitles 😛 Ok, time for peanuts to sleep & dream.

The following is in response to MB’s SSB nomination (I am combining them since both blogs are my babies):

Q1:  What are the languages you can speak and write?

I can speak Cantonese, Mandarin, English and Bahasa and also write them except Chinese 😦

Q2: If you can become one of the characters in a book/drama you have read/watch for 1 month, who will it be?

No doubt Bai Feng Xi from my favourite ancient novel Who Gets the World.

Q3: Can you describe the person in Q2?

The novel describes her as one dressed in a simple white robe like the snowy moon and she is praised for having “unsurpassable grace,”. She also happens to be one who acts and speaks freely, wild like the wind, and is respected by people in the martial arts world (wulin). She is pretty, smart, compassionate, capable, witty, a princess, has good martial arts skills, good friends, people who love her as well as a guy who is willing to die for her; what more can I ask for :P?

 

Lidge

Thank you Melanie for the nomination!!^^

Q1: In the pugilist world, there is this saying that if you have reached a high enough level of cultivation, then you become your weapon, and your weapon becomes you. So…if you were a weapon, what would it be and why?

I want to be the tiny, hidden darts that elite wuxia fighters shoot out from their sleeves, pew!! pew!! pew!! I’ll destroy my enemies before they know what hit them :P.

Q2: Which novel or drama character would you like to marry and why? You cannot take the best parts of several characters and combine them into an ideal spouse! You have to pick one character and accept his bad traits along with the good ones.

I’m not picky, I can marry anyone as long as he looks like Wallace Huo :D.

Q3: What is your dream profession and why? (And if you don’t mind my nosiness, what is your real profession? You don’t have to answer this if you don’t wish to.)

In my dream life, I’d be the caretaker of a money tree. Whenever I need money, I’d just go out with a basket and pick all the money bills I want from the tree, hehe. In real life, I’m a zombie accounting clerk trying my best to appear alive at work, zzzzzzzzzz.

 

Hui3r

I floated up of my abyss of darkness to say hi, and thank you to Melanie for the nomination.

Q1: In the pugilist world, there is this saying that if you have reached a high enough level of cultivation, then you become your weapon, and your weapon becomes you. So…if you were a weapon, what would it be and why?

I have actually never thought about this, so this is hard. Is it a cop-out to say intelligence? I think intelligence is an awesome weapon.

If you’re asking what weapon would I like to wield to kick baddies’ asses – it’ll be probably be a pair of twin swords. Because being ambidextrous in a fight would be really cool and useful.

Q2: Which novel or drama character would you like to marry and why? You cannot take the best parts of several characters and combine them into an ideal spouse! You have to pick one character and accept his bad traits along with the good ones.

So hard, because there are a lot of awesome male characters out there. On the assumption that he’ll love me back, I’m going with Mu Yan/Su Yu. Because he would literally give up his life to be with her.

Q3: What is your dream profession and why? (And if you don’t mind my nosiness, what is your real profession? You don’t have to answer this if you don’t wish to.)

I have always wanted to be a writer! It’s like my dream to see a book spine with my name printed on it. 😀

 

Yingniang

It’s really humbling to be nominated especially since my stint as a translator was a short one. Thanks Mel! 🙂

Q1: In the pugilist world, there is this saying that if you have reached a high enough level of cultivation, then you become your weapon, and your weapon becomes you. So…if you were a weapon, what would it be and why?

Could I be a learned beauty HAHAHA. Helen of Troy had a face that launched a thousand ships and since the beginning of time, there have been empires that have risen and fallen because of a woman. I like the idea of wielding such influence :p Being a learned person is important because when all else fails, I expect the pen to save me from the aggression of the masculine sword.

Q2: Which novel or drama character would you like to marry and why? You cannot take the best parts of several characters and combine them into an ideal spouse! You have to pick one character and accept his bad traits along with the good ones.

I like the pre-emption 😉 Having become acquainted with many different male characters, it’s so tempting to construct the perfect partner with the best mix of traits!

Mmm while there were a few contenders, my final choice would be Zhang Han’s character Tang Jun in the drama Queen of SOP. (I know he is more famous for his role as Boss Feng Teng around these parts ;p) Tang Jun is a gentleman, and a romantic one at that. Also, he has a sense of humour which is important to me!

Q3: What is your dream profession and why? (And if you don’t mind my nosiness, what is your real profession? You don’t have to answer this if you don’t wish to.)

While lyricists are the less glorified cousins of writers, their profession marries two great interests of mine – writing and music. Furthermore, I think songs are more accessible? Not many have cultivated the love for reading or have the stamina to plough through volumes and volumes. Also, lyricists are basically concise poets which is really admirable.

Hahaha hmmm if my answer to question 2 wasn’t Tang Jun, it would have been Jing in Tong Hua’s Lost You Forever. I love his gentleness, his magnanimity and his devotion. Perhaps Jing would have been a more befitting answer cause what I will do is a close parallel to Xiao Yao’s occupation. (Not the princess bit. I wish.)

 

Hoju

Thanks Mel for the nomination.  🙂

Q1: In the pugilist world, there is this saying that if you have reached a high enough level of cultivation, then you become your weapon, and your weapon becomes you. So…if you were a weapon, what would it be and why?

I was so tempted to write something like Xiao Long Nv’s white cloth with the bell on the end because… well, simply because it’s aesthetically pleasing.  I like pretty things.  But in all practicality, I’d probably choose “palms,” like most of Jin Yong’s leads.  They’re always there when you need them and don’t burden you with extra weight.  And they’re multi-purpose.  After I’ve beat up all my enemies, I can go home and make myself a cup of milk tea with them.

Q2: Which novel or drama character would you like to marry and why? You cannot take the best parts of several characters and combine them into an ideal spouse! You have to pick one character and accept his bad traits along with the good ones.

*gasp* You’re making me choose out of my top 3 list!  I would have to say, He Suye, from Loving You is the Best Thing I’ve Ever Done.  Surprised that it’s not Toupai?  Toupai is the sweet, cool, and awesomely smooth doctor who cooks and dotes on you, whereas He Suye is the warm, loving, down-to-earth, slightly shy-in-an-endearing-way doctor next door who cooks and cleans and dotes on you.  (Both terribly handsome, of course.) However, I think I’d go berserk with all of Toupai’s rabid fans.  So even though Toupai leads my top 3 male leads list, I’d pick He Suye as my spouse.  (Sorry Toupai!  I will always love you!)

Q3: What is your dream profession and why? (And if you don’t mind my nosiness, what is your real profession? You don’t have to answer this if you don’t wish to.)

Oooh… I like everyone else’s ideas, too.  I once heard of someone whose job was to try out all the vacation packages that a radio station was offering as giveaways or prize rewards.  She got to bring her family along and do exactly what the prize winner would do.  Hello?!  Paid to have vacation?!  Sign me up right now, please!

As for real life, I’m an engineer turned stay-at-home mom.  Love it (most days).

12 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award

  1. Lols very nice ones guys.. Enjoy reading all your answers.. Waaahh i read twice.. 😀

    But hoju’ Q2 answer hahahaha.. As long as he looks like WH.. Lmao..

    But, peanuts.. So you can speak bahasa? Aiyoooo.. Sesuatu lols 😛
    I thought only me and Hanny speak bahasa hihi..

    • Ps : thank you Yingniang for posting this.. (I should say this since i really enjoy reading this) hehe

      • Haha it was fun posting again! And it felt nice publishing something as a team 🙂 Andddd I’m sure we all enjoyed answering the interesting questions 😀

    • Oh my bad, i mean Lidge.. Sorry sorry (dancing suju)

    • Yui, u so superficial 😛 Just bcos Roger is old & Cho Nam is short, you don’t support their drama Cousin. U only have eyes for handsome guys lol.

      Yes, I can speak bahasa pasar lol. Thus, u can write your comment in bahasa if you don’t want others to know lol. But I better warn you, my blog got a lot of readers who can understand bahasa 😛

  2. Congrats you guys deserve it!

    • OMG hi Heisui!! I remember reading your recaps on Bu Bu Jing Xin! Haha those were good times 😉 I still read your blog whenever my schedule is more forgiving!

      On behalf of the hui3r team, thank you for your support! 🙂

  3. I love Lidge’s dream profession the best but I would add maybe one or two special branches laden with credit cards!!! And ah…ha….now I know why Hoju has all the time to do all the mouth watering translations….

    Congratulations to everyone on their nominations….

    • Hahaha I agree with you on the credit cards! :p Heehee and I loved finding out more about the other hui3r bloggers as well!

      On behalf of the hui3r team, thank you for your support XinnXinn! 🙂

    • At first, my dream profession was to do nothing, but your shifu said she doesn’t like copycats :P. I thought and thought and came up with something better :D.

    • Wah! Xinn, I had way more free time when I worked a “real” full time job.

Leave a Reply

