Fangirling Chinese Novels


My Sunshine: 15 Minute Trailer with Subtitles



Happy New Year!!  I rang in the New Year while translating the latest trailer for My Sunshine, so I had Wallace Chung and Tang Yan (and of course, hubby) keeping me company as I stepped into 2015.  Hope you all had a wonderful New Year’s Eve.🙂

New Year’s Eve (Asia time) actually saw the release of this trailer as well as the ending song, sung by Wallace Chung, for My Sunshine.  You should have seen the Weibo fans go crazy over this double New Year’s present.  Unfortunately, the New Year’s Eve release also meant I had to sneak in subbing this between other plans, so I could not get to translating the lyrics of the song today.  That will be coming up shortly.🙂

A big thanks to Chewywon, who has encoded all the subs onto the video for easier viewing for you. And now… enjoy!

Chewywon: Hoju did such a good job at translating and pin pointing where everything is, it made my job easier. As a New Year gift, I’ve included some sweet captures of our leads. Don’t forget to leave a sweet comment for Hoju’s hard effort at translating as well.  

So, as suspected from the other trailers released, they are playing up the Yichen-Mosheng-Ying Hui love triangle and bigamy thing.  What would a drama be without a love triangle, right?  I’m not against deviations from the novel so long as they maintain the feel and spirit of the original writing.  Gu Man was consulted during the process, so hopefully that means that fulfills my criteria.

I am so glad they gave Mo Sheng and Yi Chen an official honeymoon for us to see.  That couple needs some sweetness and alone time after their 7 years apart.t1















19 thoughts on “My Sunshine: 15 Minute Trailer with Subtitles

  1. hmm … interesting!! thank you so much!!! really just cant wait🙂

  2. Yay, another drama to be excited about. Come Eat, Shan Shan exceeded my expectations. Let’s hope this one will too! Thanks for all the frequent updates. Happy New Year!

  3. so ying hui’s gonna be the antagonist character here? emm.. it’s still acceptable.. as you guys said, what would a drama be without love triangle. even i enjoy reading the novel without love triangle. cuz sometimes it’s boring to watch a pathetic triangle love story, so this one better give us a fresh love story.
    with that bigamy and stuff.. mo sheng will face a big problem, but our heroin has her SUPER hero! Wallace is handsome as usual especially when he smiles. but.. i dunno.. i just realized the chemistry between tang yan and wallace isn’t that ‘bold’.😀

    thank you guys for translating, editing and writing this article. it helps me a lot. you guys are the best🙂
    and the poster.. beautiful!🙂

    • I’m hoping that don’t make Ying Hui into an evil or annoying antagonist. In the novel, you may not love him (he doesn’t have a whole lot of screen time so it’s hard to love him), but you do have a certain respect for him because he respected the love Mo Sheng had for Yi Chen and in the end, did not force his love upon her. His final email to Mo Sheng really made me feel for him.

  4. Thank you for keeping us updated. A few more days to go…
    Happy New Year to all!

  5. Thank you for translating the substitles. Happy New Year !!

  6. I’m okay with alterations as long as Gu Man was consulted…I liked Shan Shan no matter what so I have my fingers crossed since it’s the same production.

    • Gu man was not only consulted but she was the one who wrote the script with the author of really really miss you so it will stay very faithful to the novel, with some new inclusions.

      • ohhh…nice…I can see that they will be very faithful even with just the trailer. I like it also that there are a lot of side characters that will get more story in drama since the novel was quite short and didn’t really allow that.

        I really need to read Really Really Miss You, I’m just a little scared that there will be a lot of crying involved in that novel. Please tell me there’s minimal to none. I once read a novel and cried for like 4 hours non stop while reading. It really hurt everywhere, not to mention that the members of my family thought I have lost my sanity.

        • If you read RRMY, you will laugh for 4 hrs but your family will still think you have lost your sanity lol.

        • Definitely next in my list…I just need to finish the other novel I started, which is probably in a few hours and will read that next..

        • I’m biased because I love Really, Really Miss You. 😉 But you really should give it a try!! It’s all sweet, cute, and loving. No angst! If it doesn’t make you smile, I will sing one of the songs in the novel for you. I’m that certain. *cross my heart*

        • I’m goin to take you up on that…I’ll probably loose but I think I can try my hardest so I can hear you sing…^-^…

  7. Heya, they used Feng Teng’s apartment as Yi Chen’s home!🙂

  8. Hi .. how to turn on the english subtitle? I am not so much Mandarin/Chinese conversant. Manage to catch few words in sentences. English translation will be greatly helped. I cannot see the translation in the clip. Please help? Thank you.

    • At the bottom right of the YouTube window, there should be a button marked “CC”. Click on that and you should be able to see the subtitles. 🙂

      • Thank you @hoju. While watching from YouTube, yes it shows. But all this cc doesn’t work after download. Is there anyway to download subtitle as well? I love to upload into my tab so I can carry around🙂

Leave a Reply

