Fanatical

Fangirling Chinese Novels

Introducing the C-Novel Monthly Challenge

10 Comments

So have you guys missed me? Sorry that I have been a bit MIA over the last week – Real Life caught up, and frankly I have been in a little bit of a writing rut as well. Thanks to Peanuts for holding up the fort and bringing you guys all sorts of goodies while I have been away. 🙂

So I have been bumming around in fandom and I cannot escape that there are all sorts of writing challenges and I thought that it would be cool to do one for C-novels as well. Of course, most places do 30 day challenges but frankly, I don’t think I can keep up with that kind of schedule. Therefore, what I am going to do is a monthly challenge, which may or may not be extended.

I couldn’t find a challenge meme that was suitable for C-novels. But I got pretty inspired by 30 Day Wuxia and Ancient Chinese Series Challenge so I adapted that for C-Novels.

The following is the first 15 themes/challenges that I plan to write about. There may be additions to the list in the future, as I get inspired. If anyone wants to do this with me, feel free – otherwise, just drop your two cents in the comment box and we can have a discussion on it. Also, let me know if you guys have any more ideas on expanding the list. 😀

  1. Memory of your first C-novel or the C-novel that got you into the genre
  2. Favourite male character
  3. Favourite female character
  4. Most emotional scene
  5. Most romantic scene
  6. Favourite “imperial” C-novel
  7. Favourite Wuxia C-novel
  8. Favourite Modern C-novel
  9. Favourite Xianxia/Fantasy C-novel
  10. Favourite couple
  11. Favourite villain/anti-hero
  12. Favourite C-novel title
  13. If you could kill one character, who would you kill and why?
  14. If you could save one character from dying, who would you save and why?
  15. Which C-novel ending would you change?

10 thoughts on “Introducing the C-Novel Monthly Challenge

  1. I wish I could join the challenge but sadly, I haven’t read any of the novels, so I’t won’t work for me…

    But at least I dropped two cents! XD

    • There are quite a few translation projects going around. If you are interested, go check out http://www.books.shushengbar.com/?page_id=27.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • WOW! Thank you for the link! I have been looking a long time for english translations! Thank you so much!

        • Haha. You’re welcome. Some of them have more “complete” series than others. The more notable (because of drama adaptations that are coming out) which would probably be more your cup of tea (wuxia/ancient setting) would be Da Mo Yao (Ballad of the Dessert) and Yun Zhong Ge (Song in the Clouds) by Tong Hua at Mrs K’s website (link above), Three Lives Three Worlds 10 Miles of Peach Blossoms and Three Lives Three Worlds Pillow Book by Tangqi Gongzi (translated by Hamster426: http://hamster428.livejournal.com/28783.html). Of course there’s also Chenguang’s Hua Xu Yin but she isn’t too far along with that.

          Enjoy!

  2. Awesome, really happy you were inspired by my 30 Day Challenge. Great to see more challenges created for Chinese stuff, esp the ancient ones. Sadly I’m with drunken on that I can’t read Chinese to be able to enjoy the literature. Perhaps one year, when I improve enough, haha! Then, I shall be doing this challenge!

    • You’re welcome. Again, as per my reply to Drunken, there are a few projects going around, but they are mainly xianxia.

      Are you studying mandarin? Do drop by from time to time anyway. You still consume a lot of drama based on C-novels (all those wuxia novels) feel free to comment. As you can see, I am not picky on how the C-novels are consumed – even through derivative works like drama adaptations count!

  3. Thanks but I think I have no choice but to sit this one out. I’m like Drunkensword, not quite fully educated in Mandarin. However, as you have suggested , I’ll try and drop by now and again to see what’s happening.

  4. OHH sounds very interesting! I’m interested in participating but LOL all of my stuff are SO old xD I got into the genre at the ripe age of 8~9. It’s been a WHILE! I honestly don’t think I have enough memorable ones to write about but when I’ve got some spare time I’ll definitely have fun with this 😀
    Thanks for the challenge 😀

  5. Great challenge! This and the ancient series one as well. 😀

    Looking forward to reading your answers and everyone else’s, too. Would like to participate in this. Do we leave our answers on this blog post?

    Only problem I can foresee is forgetting some of the books I’ve read/listened to only to remember them after filling out the answers. Haha.

Leave a comment